FMX Home
Susan Combs•Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

State Mileage Reimbursement Rate

Issued: Aug. 6, 1990
Updated: Dec. 13, 2013 – View changes

FPP S.005

Table of Contents

Previous rates

Travel Reimbursement Historical Information

Contacts

If you have any questions, please contact your agency travel contact.

Previous rates

Travel Reimbursement Historical Information

Contacts

If you have any questions, please contact your agency travel contact.

Print to PDF PDF

Overview

Applicable to

State agencies and institutions of higher education

Policy

Personal Vehicle

The maximum state mileage reimbursement rate is 56 cents per mile effective Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2014.

A state agency is not required to reimburse employees at the maximum rate. A state agency may specify a mileage reimbursement rate that is less than 56 cents per mile under Texas Government Code Section 660.007(b). The agency must notify affected individuals in writing about the lower rate before implementing it.

See Transportation: Mileage in a Personal Vehicle in Textravel for more information.

Personal or Leased Aircraft

State Officials

The reimbursement rate for a key state official, board/commission member or member of the Legislature for travel in a personally owned or leased aircraft is $1.33 per mile effective Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2013, based on the rate issued by the General Services Administration (GSA).

State Employees

The reimbursement rate for a state employee for travel in a personally owned or leased aircraft is $1.33 per mile effective Sept. 1 to Dec. 31, 2013, based on the rate issued by the GSA.

Legal cite

Article IX, Sections 5.04 and 5.05 of the General Appropriations Act (GAA) for the 2014–2015 fiscal biennium

Changes to this document
12/13/2013 Updated to reflect current effective dates for mileage reimbursement rate: Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2014
08/23/2013 Updated per acts of the 83rd Legislature, Regular Session
11/30/2012 Updated to reflect current effective dates for mileage reimbursement rate: Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2013
12/29/2011 Updated to reflect current effective dates for mileage reimbursement rate: Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2012

Printer Friendly

Susan Combs
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Questions? Contact statewide.accounting@cpa.state.tx.us
Window on State Government | FMX
FMX Sitemap | Contact FM
Accessibility Policy | Privacy and Security Policy